How exactly does the TC licensing work re: changing plans? I am planning to scale back my services in the upcoming year and will probably change from Complete Suite to Tax Basics - will I still be able to access and complete prior years’ T3 returns (for instance) based on the existing license, the way I can still use ProFile to complete returns for years that predate TC based on having a license valid for those years?
I am not associated with Xero or TaxCycle, and would recommend that you actually speak to TaxCycle to determine the actual details of their license agreements.
Reading the licenses, you are purchasing a license to access the various modules for a specified period of time.
Offhand, I suspect that your prior licenses will permit you to open the prior files, but would not necessarily permit you to modify the files oer possibly even print those files. I imagine that you would equally not be able to create the prior year files for returns which your current license does not permit.
However, it is entirely possible that, having not purchased a current license for a particular tax return type, you may not necessarily be able to open a prior file created when you had the license for that module/tax return type.
It is my practice to always generate PDF copies of all returns after completing them for archival purposes.
This would actually be a good thing for the folks at TC to publish or explain - whether just for completeness and transparency or at least here. @taxcycle ?
There’s nothing stopping you from emailing support. They do publish their email address.
Since they don’t monitor this forum intensely, you would get an answer quicker using that method. You should expect a certain level of speculation here.
Well..the license is actually on the Start Page.![]()
2.6 New Features and Functionality of the Software: You must purchase a license once a year in order to receive access to the latest tax changes in the Software. If You do not purchase a license to a new year’s version of the Software, You may still continue to use the Software (if your payments pursuant to Section 7 are up to date) from the year of purchase even after the license period has expired.
So I’d interpret that as “if you paid the year in full, you can continue to use it fully, but not update it”.
That’s how I was interpreting it (and how I hope it works), but there seem to be wide variations in software licensing i.e. with ProFile I can still work in the old/licensed years but QB desktop (also Intuit, right?) won’t even let me open an old file to look at it…
I will certainly ask TC directly in the course of renewing but though perhaps someone here already had the answer. Thanks, all.
