TaxCycle | Products | Pricing | Training | Documentation | Support | News

Restore Deleted T1 Return

I printed a T1 return for husband and wife, printed it, and went to save but deleted instead. Is there an easy way to restore/recover?

Did you check the recycle bin?

I did just now and it’s not there.

@obhorst
@Cameron

I would like Taxcycle to add the option to configure a backup folder within the software to save temp and revised copies. Normally this is not needed. However when it is it makes a huge difference that this feature is present. Right now I get around this by creating a duplicate copy of my file when starting to make significant changes. This strategy does not fix the problem of forgetting to save the file before exiting.

What I have in mind is a combination of four features.

  • Auto save a new file if not saved into the base tax folder.
  • Saving a backup copy to separate folder in the event that the working file is messed up and you want to revert to the original or prior version.
  • Auto saving when closing the file when changes are not saved based on a prompt.
  • Creating a file duplicate when trying various scenarios to preserve the original file without the need to create an adjustment.

Of course, this would likely be very complex to implement. So, this is just a nice to have but I can manage without it request.

I use Carbonite and Acronis Backup.

Carbonite protects the files on the operating computer. Acronis protects the files on the server by copying them to the other server. No action needed by Taxcycle to do this.

And I have had to restore files…

@TimParris
@obhorst

Thank you for sharing your backup strategy.

Such a strategy could help Osiah Horst to recover his deleted file to an earlier saved version. But it may not solve his concern of entering data but not saving changes or if the file was never saved in the first place. As far as I know there is no temp file created which could be recovered. There is no version control embedded in TaxCycle similar to MS Office Desktop. Depending upon your backup strategy there may not be version control or sufficient frequency of backup to save your data within the time frame.

I use Cobian backup to schedule my onsite backups plus two offsite backups. As far as preventing the loss of a copy within certain time frames is concerned, these strategies work fine.

However if a file is not saved, there is no auto save feature to help me recover my work.

If a file becomes corrupted or overwritten (ie saving multiple versions) it does not help. Instead I use my manual methodology by using a save as and renaming my new file. Like all manual methodology this is not error proof. Occasionally, I have an oopsie and have forgotten to save as and rename my file before starting some complex revision. In those cases I would have preferred a better and more automated process.

I believe that in IT analysis, the source of these types or errors is usually traced to either a PEBKAC error or an ID-ten-t error.

Getting into the habit of saving a file that one is using whatever the software (alt-s or cntrl-s in almost all user software) after making each and every significant change reduces the potential damage caused by such an error to a trivial number of keystrokes to replicate and recover from.

1 Like

“I printed a T1 return for husband and wife, printed it, and went to save but deleted instead. Is there an easy way to restore/recover?”
.
If the contents of the file since last saving only existed in RAM, it will be gone by now, so you will have to start with the last copy saved to hard media (HDD) and re-enter the changes.
.

Thanks, Joe, that’s what I thought by I hoped I was wrong.

@joe.justjoe1

Cute terms. So true. The problem is between the chair and the computer.

None the less, with all the automation and AI being added to accounting apps for quality, consistency, and throughput it would be nice to have some training wheels or a safety net.

Did you hit “Close without Saving” by chance? I talked to taxcycle about this before, it would be really nice that if you pushed that button it would display a popup warning like “ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO CLOSE WITHOUT SAVING AND LOSE ALL THE WORK YOU JUST DID”.

There is already a big message:
.
.
UNSAVED CHANGES

Would you like to save your changes to xxx.2019T1 …
.
.
Perhaps the only way to overcome this problem properly is to have SKYNET take over…
.
.

Yes, that is what I did. It is so final when you hit that button.

@obhorst if you go to the folder where your taxcycle files are saved, then right click on it and choose Properties
There is a tab called “Previous Versions” - go there
It may take a few minutes for it to fill, but you can usually recover about a month back, sometimes further.

Click on an older folder (say the date before you deleted ) and if the file is ther, copy and paste it into your current folder.

Open the file and make sure all info is included as the final printed copy.

Thanks, Debbie - you’re answers are always helpful!

My results: Headings

What is a previous version for this purpose?