New user questions

I’m brand new to TaxCycle and have a few questions…

1. Once I’m in TaxCycle, say working on a T2, how do I open a T1 file for another client? I had a call the other day and couldn’t figure this out; I had to close the program down and re-open it to get to the T1!

2. As I am just moving to the software and have some t-slips to prepare for my corporate clients - would it be a good idea to first create the PY T2 and then create the T4/T5 slips from that file or start from scratch on the t-slips? I thought it might be helpful when it comes time to prepare next year’s T2 to have it there anyway, for comparatives…

3. Can you share with me how you use DoxCycle? I’m struggling to grasp it’s purpose. I understand I can scan t-slips into for T1 prep, but is that the main purpose? Am I missing out on a benefit/key use?

Thanks for any tips/tricks you can share. So far, I’m loving the software :slight_smile:

Re 1) I have TaxCycle pinned to the Taskbar.
Right click on the TaxCycle icon and open up another instance of the program.
Re 2) Totally depends on the file. You can only create T4’s for shareholders based on the T2 so I normally just start the T4 file from scratch.
Re 3) I don’t use DoxCyle anymore. Find it too cumbersome. I don’t like to have all my PDF’s in one file. It is nice for organizing, but I rather have separate PDFs for different documents. Just based on preference I guess.

1 Like

@Amy

1. I will also pin TaxCycle to the task bar after reading @Rein because I too find this frustrating.
  2. I create T4s from scratch.
  3. I used DoxCycle for a year or two then quit because Medical Slips were not entering properly so I found it to be too much work. I also try to scan medical and donation receipts in customer pdf files.