Notion app and integrations for tax client work

QUESTION
Does anyone use the Notion app with it’s workspace sharing and many integrations to:

• make notes
  • store data as wiki
  • manage databases
  • link and view documents stored elsewhere
  • and, collaborate with team members.

If so…

• What do think about using Notion for tax prep?
  • How do you use it?

In my option, Notion seems to new, niche, and techie for client communications.

Notion

BACKGROUND
One of my website and online marketing trainers uses Notion to communicate with her students and her coaching clients. Now I have no choice but to learn and use Notion to get her resource links, coaching, and support.

Back in 2018 when I was first introduced to Notion I dismissed it for several reasons. I have been using MS OneNote since 2003. It took me a long time to learn all the various ins and outs of working with Outlook and OneNote. Now it is second nature. I had tried Trello and Asana. I tried several other workflow and practice management tools. Eventually settled on a Pixie, 17Hats, and OneNote.

Now I am wondering, if Notion can help me this tax season as a note taking and linking hub.

Pixie
Pixie is good for workflow documentation, client and project tracking, automation, and more. It has tons of free templates tax and accounting templates that I can clone and modify. Great training. Great support. A bit pricing if you don’t use it as your core practice manager. But much less expense and already built out when compared with many alternatives.

17Hats
17Hats is good for a sole practitioner as an all-in-one online platform, calendaring, marketing, pricing, email templates, and much more. 17Hats has native integration with Google Workspace such that I don’t need to use Zapier for many basic automations. Plus I am grandfathered in at the highest plan on a dirt cheap 5 year purchase. So I don’t care that it is not niched to accounting because it does so much else.

In conclusion