Income Exempt from Tax - Indian

I have a client who income (T4) is exempted working income. The client received Workers’ Compensation Benefit of $27,880.38. Is this amount exempted to be reported on Form T90 on line 12?

I read this article 6 June 2022 Internal T.I. 2020-0844651I7 - Workers Compensation paid by employer First Nation | Tax Interpretations . I am concluding the WCB payment is tax exempted.

What are your thoughts?

That interpretation doesn’t specify how or where the exempt income should be reported on the T4 slip. Typically, if it is income exempt from tax under the Indian Act, it should show up in box 71, which TaxCycle automatically reports on the T90. I’m not an expert on this, and there may be exceptions. But, I usually tell my client to get their employer to re-issue the T4 slip showing the income in box 71 instead of box 14.

@Nezzer Let me clarify, the T4 is not the issue, it was recorded correctly as tax exempted. The client received T5007 for the $27,880.38 representing workers compensation benefit. I am assuming it needs to be recorded on T90.

I think that would be correct - it should go under Line 12 - other types of exempt income.

Thanks for clarifying. In that case, I would want some assurance from the client (maybe even a signed statement) that the compensation income was entirely related to his/her employment on the reserve.

If you’re making the decision that it is exempt (T90) income, you may need to defend or or support that decision at some point in the future (i.e. CRA denies the exemption, and the client tells them, “My accountant did that!”). On the other hand, if your client is telling you, “This is exempt because it was due to my employment on reserve,” they are making the decision themselves.