Prospect (new industry)

A prospect phoned in today inquring corporate tax filing services.

Corporation is not even one year old yet.
The owners mentioned they will be completing their own bookkeeping (I realize I will have to look over their books and point out errors as I have done for other clients who have done their own bookkeeping in the past).

However, I have no experience in the industry of “IT and research” and I do not wish to take on a client that I cannot properly service.

Personally, I’ve worked with many types of businesses ranging from a tattoo artist up to a law practice. But never with an IT company.

Does IT have any major complexities in it and therefore I can refer the prospect off or is it straightforward for the most part (no sales to the US)?

“IT” (information technology) covers a broad range of services. These days, even accounting could be considered “IT” (and, in fact, a large portion of my revenue comes from troubleshooting accounting software, and helping clients understand and use technology in various forms). So, you’d have to get more info from the prospect.

I have (or have had) clients that do computer repair, security system installation, development of food processing technology, and even software development (was not a client for more than a year). None of those clients had/have accounting complexities that were beyond the capabilities of an average accountant. For example: