Non-capital loss - rep a client

Hi there,

I’m just starting out my T2 business, and have a look at my client rep a client. My client had negative retained earnings (deficit) on the balance sheet, that should mean that he had non-capital loss, right? However, why does rep a client doesn’t show the corporation had non-capital loss? Unlike for personal where we can view which year the losses were from, CRA don’t keep track for corporation? So if I file a return claiming the loss, will CRA accept it? Is there a way I can find out how much loss was from which year?

Thanks

Ask the client for the prior years T2 returns.

There are many ways to get a negative retained earnings without triggering an actual loss for tax purposes

I did look at that… the previous accountant just randomly put a number so it make the taxable income to 0.

How do you know that? Have you compared the schedule 1 to the financial statements? Did he perhaps take management salaries to come down to zero?

Was it the accountant or the client providing the information. Based on the limited information, the warning signs are concerning.

" My client had negative retained earnings (deficit) on the balance sheet, that should mean that he had non-capital loss, right?"

• Not necessarily - Could have been Capital Losses or something else

“However, why does rep a client doesn’t show the corporation had non-capital loss?”

• CRA has not implemented that online - and, there might not be any non-capital losses for the corporation…

“So if I file a return claiming the loss, will CRA accept it?”

• What loss are you referring to? You don’t have any non-capital losses according to your post.

“Is there a way I can find out how much loss was from which year?”

• By obtaining copies of the last 10+ years of the Corporations Financials, Tax returns, and assessments, or alternatively some reliable working paper schedules from the accountant who prepared the previous year