Destroyed camera...how to dispose correctly

hi forum,

i am a newbie and i hope you got some tolerance for a beginner question :slight_smile:

i am a freelancer, shooting photos for marriages and other smaller events.

unfortunately my camera got destroyed (it felt down). no insurance. had to replace it.

the class now contains my old camera (destroyed) and the new one (had to replace it). I entered into my tax software the disposition of my old camera with nil proceeds (studied CRA website and it seems like that is the way to go).

however, the UCC did not change, which makes sense because I entered nil proceeds. do I have to reduce the UCC by the remaining value to ensure that I am no longer deprecating the camera?

much much appreciated - thank you

If the new camera is added to the same “pool” of assets, that pool is not empty, so you cannot write off the remaining balance from the original camera - you can only keep taking CCA at the prescribed rate.

However, you also need to add the cost of the new camera to the existing UCC balance - an “addition” to the pool. So, now your UCC balance should be much higher than the cost of the one camera you still have. But, you will be able to claim more CCA each year. For example:
Cost of original camera = $1,000
Added to CCA class 8 (20%)
Per the half-year rule, first year depreciation = 10% x $1,000 = $100
UCC at end of year = $900
Assume camera was destroyed/replaced during second year.
New camera cost = $1,000
Added to same CCA pool (Class 8), so UCC now = $1,900
Per the half-year rule, first year depreciation = 10% x $1,000 but the remaining $900 can be depreciated at 20% so total CCA = $100 + $180 = $280 for that year.

Note: the above calculation does not account for the new AAII rules, which changes the half-year rule to a 150% rule.