Canada taxes special assessment, can you help me understand the letter?

I’m not a tax professional, i’m just looking for help.

I got a special assessment from CRA. I’m going to take this to my accountant to help with, but he’s away right now so I can’t ask him any questions until probably after labour day.

CRA asked for the below
Professional income (loss) (line 13700 of the tax return) - 2021 tax year
Business income (loss) (line 13500 of the tax return) - 2022 tax year

Is professional income the income I made from my day job where I receive a T4?
And is business income just the amount i make from my small business? (registered as sole-proprietorship)

So do they just want information for my work income in 2021 and my business income in 2022?
I’m confused by the words professional income and business income.

Please help ! I’m stressed

Not t4 income just from your small business. income before and after deductions

Thanks, but can you explain what the distinction between professional and business income is?

business like accounting
profession like a plumber

1 Like

Perhaps being a business is better identified as being a registered, Provincial or federal entity, which could be a plumbing business. Yet a professional income is identified as income other than employment income T4. Say you are a employed plumber T4 and do side jobs without having a registered company.

@ronda.medina
Take a look at your copy of the last tax return. There will be a form T2125 to report your proprietorship income (it could be 5-10 pages). On that form, you (or your accountant) must choose whether to report the income in Part 3A (business) or in Part 3B (professional). You can’t report both. If Part 3A is filled out, it shows up on line 13500 of the T1. If Part 3B is filled out, it shows up on line 13700 of the T1.