Bare Trust Advice

I have client who is on title of her daughter’s home so she could obtain a mortgage. She only owns 1% and the daughter owns 99%. The daughter lives in the home with her husband and they pay the mortgage and make all the decisions.

This sounds like a classic Bare Trust where the daughter is the beneficiary and settlor, and the mother is the trustee. But what about the daughter’s husband? He is not on title but sounds to me like he may also be a beneficial owner. Of course there is no documented Bare Trust agreement. My client is the mother and I have no dealings with the children. I am not a lawyer and don’t feel comfortable drafting legal documents on their behalf and bringing in a third party who is not currently named in any legal capacity. So my question is do I have to include the daughter’s husband on the T3 return? Or is it still correct to leave him out?

This article in the Globe has made me very hesitant to write DIY legal agreements when I’m not even in consultation with the parties involved.

. New tax rules have many Canadians in a bind: It’s hard to find an accountant but risky to DIY - The Globe and Mail

EDIT - I just received the purchase and sale agreement from my client. She actually only owns 0.01% and the daughter owns 99.99%. Is there even a trust here?

I attended a course recently (online) and they stated that a bare trust may exist where only one spouse is on title of a house and the other spouse is at least a partial beneficial owner. My husband and I have this situation therefore we created a bare trust … Something also to consider is the impact on each spouse (and other title holders) for the principal residence exemption.